Bright, Green, Avocado Toast

img_20160312_132652.jpg

I had another brunch. I love brunch. It’s one of my favorite times to gather with friends. Sit, eat, hang out, watch movies. We did it all. The rain helped us to become total couch potatoes, but I had no complaints.

img_20160312_132541.jpg

Remember last week I told you my friends and I were going to attempt Churro Waffles? Well, we did. They were amazing. I think cinnamon + sugar is one of my favorite combos. Everyone came over with some incredible dishes.

img_20160312_130419.jpg

While the waffles were being made, I put together a bright, fresh, easy snack. This could do so well as an appetizer, a little bite at a tea party, a stack on their own as a meal.

1 avocado
6 leaves basil
1 cup arugula
4 pieces white bread, toasted
garlic salt
squeeze of lemon juice
black pepper

20160312_113027.jpg

Put the avocado in a bowl, and mash. You don’t want it too chunky. Add a squeeze of lemon juice. This is meant to keep the avocado from browning, add a little bit of flavor, but the taste should not be overwhelmingly citrus.

20160312_113018.jpg

Slice up the basil into strips. Halve those. Toss into the avocado. Add 2-3 grinds of garlic salt, 1 grind of black pepper.

20160312_113617.jpg

Toast the white bread. Cut the slices in half. Smear the avocado mixture on top of the slices of toasted bread. Crack more black pepper on top.

20160312_113955.jpg

Top with a small fingerful of arugula. Place on a dish. Eat. Repeat.

Leave a Reply

