Spiced Apple Compote

img_20160309_093239.jpg

This weekend my friends and I will attempt Churro Waffles. Churro. Waffles. *starts to salivate* The inspiration for this recipe comes from the blog 12 Tomatoes. You can check out their mouth watering video here.

I got a bulk thing of apples and REALLLLY got tired of eating a lot of apples. But I didn’t want my fruit to go to waste. Then it hit me. Waffles + Fruit = Happiness

Except when you are making something as stupendous-sounding as a churro waffle, you can’t have any old fruit tossed on top. Introducing my Spiced Apple Compote. The flavor will go perfectly with these waffles, balled on top, melting into the dough…. mmmmm… Or it stands alone as a great addition to toast, on top of pork (have you ever tried a pork chop with apples?… do it), or even a modern twist on potato latkes. Let’s begin.

5 green apples
1 bosc pear
1/2 stick butter
2 tsps cream of tarter
1 tbls pumpkin pie spice (mix of cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg)
1/4 cup granulated sugar

Begin by melting the butter in a pan. Dice up your apples and pear. You can peel the fruit if you want, but I like the skins. Plus, the skins hold a ton of nutrients.

20160308_205106.jpg

Toss the fruit into your pan. Let simmer for about 5 minutes. Once the fruit starts to get tender, add your cream of tarter, spices, and sugar.

Simmer low. You want the fruit to break apart, become mushy, without burning it on the bottom of the pan. You will notice the mixture gets thick… that’s what you want!

20160308_214250.jpg

Once the fruit is falling apart, take the back of your wooden spoon and mash it in the pan. Keep the heat on… just start to press the spoon down and mash it.

Break is down to the consistency you want. I like it about 80% mash, 20% chunks. Turn the heat off, and place in a jar. Allow to cool on the counter for 10 minutes, then seal the jar and place in the fridge.

img_20160309_093448.jpg

For brunch this weekend, I plan on making those waffles, taking a scoop of the apples from the jar, and placing it at the center of my waffle with a pat of butter, allowing everything to melt together.

Expect a report back… now excuse me, this has made me hungry. I need a snack.

One thought on “Spiced Apple Compote

Leave a Reply

