Better-For-You Oatmeal Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookies

20150115_155458I’ve talked about my Gluten Free friend Sarah before. She’s incapable of eating the stuff. I find myself from time to time keeping her in mind when I make certain foods. Although I’m not Gluten free, and believe a good French bread is about the best thing you can eat, there are definite times in my life I could cut back on the white flour I consume. Think of it this way… If you could make something just as good as the original, but it was better for you, why not go ahead and eat that item, saving your “bad for you food” bank on something else?! In my life I grew up with the philosophy that everything should be eaten in moderation, but that everything should be enjoyed. I want you to remember that when making these because dammit they are good, and don’t have flour.

20150115_163232

A first for me on this recipe was using Coconut sugar instead of granulated sugar to make the cookies. The one inference I have is the cookie seemed a little sweeter (I used equal parts), but that it also had this incredible Carmel like crust around the outside. And it is gooood. I am going to assume this has to do with the difference in sugars. Alright, here we go.

1 cup oats (not steal cut)
1.5 cups almond meal
1 egg
2 sticks butter, unsalted and room temp
1.5 cups coconut sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tbls cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup chocolate chips

20150115_160154

To begin, preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Grab a large bowl; cream butter and sugar together until smooth. Add one egg.

Once incorporated, add vanilla, cinnamon and salt. Mix together well.

20150115_160617

When the wet ingredients are complete, add oats and almond meal. Stir together until all incorporated.

Stir in raisins and chocolate chips.

20150115_161427

Place in dollops on an ungreased cookie shit. Bake for 8.5 minutes.

20150115_163236

Transfer to a cooling rack. Grab a glass of milk, dunk cookie, eat, repeat.

2 thoughts on “Better-For-You Oatmeal Raisin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

