Mozzarella Stuffed Sliders with Italian Compote

20131123_142316

Football and meat go hand in hand like… well…. anything right in the world.  Nothing makes me happier than smelling BBQ in a football jersey.

This last home tailgate had me thinking on how I was going to bring my A game. I knew I had to bring something special that would feel a lot of people. So I roamed around my grocery store, looking for inspiration (which is usually how I plan my meals) when I saw it. An overstock on King’s Hawaiian Rolls. They were on sale. SCORE! Time for sliders.

I was feeling Italian recently, so I got inspired with the ingredients for my meat. Instead of having to worry about condiments, I made a Tomato and Onion Compote to top the burgers with. It was perfect.

1.5lbs ground beef (I use 80/20)
6 ounces shredded Mozzarella Cheese
2 packages King’s Hawaiin Rolls (should be 24 rolls)
1 batch Tomato and Onion Compote
1tbs granulated garlic
1 tbs dried oregeno
1 tbs dried basil
1/2 tbs rosemary
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper

20131120_162205

Properly seasoning a burger patty is important! Whether you are doing a seasoning on top to get a nice crust, or you add things to your meat, you need something to give it a little pizzaz. Even salt and pepper go a long way. To start the burgers, place your meat in a large bowl. Add the garlic, oregano, basil, rosemary, and a few grinds of your salt and pepper. Mix everything together.

20131120_162538

Stuffing the burgers is a conga line sort of process. Roll out a piece of meat about the size of a golf ball. Split it in half, and make an indentation on one half of the meat. Add some cheese. Take the other piece of meat and place it on top. Seal to the two sides together, flatten, and place to the side.

20131120_163143

Do this will all 24 burgers. If you need a little more glue, grab a smidge of meat from the bowl. Trust me, you will get the hang of it.

20131123_141046

You can cook these in a pan, but I opted for a the open flame at the tailgate! Everything next is all about assembly.

20131123_140739

Place the burgers on the grill and get them cooking. In the meantime, lay out the TOPS of the buns and place a tablespoon of compote on each. Set aside. Pardon my half tops half bottoms situation… I asked a boy to help me who had a few too many beers. We all need to learn cooking lessons in life…

20131123_142320

Once the burgers are done, place each on a bun. Add the other half of the slider roll and flip so the compote is on top.

20131123_142338

Serve to friends and family. If you need them to hold together a bit more, you can always insert a festive toothpick down the middle.

Leave a Reply

