The Fat Cat in Quincy, MA

01

From Website

I spent this past Monday and Tuesday in MA for a brief work trip. I didn’t get to do much sight seeing, but I did eat. Very well in fact. At The Fat Cat.

press

From Website

I figured if I was going to be there for only one night, I might as well pig out. My hotel concierge was very helpful and told me all the locals in Quincy dig this one joint. I mean… it has FAT in the name. I was sold.

I was alone. I mean alone. But I didn’t feel lonely. And that is why I love this place.

02

From Website

I sat at the bar by myself and scoured the menu. Asking the bartender multiple questions, I noticed something pretty amazing; the cooking crew was playing Grace Potter and the Nocturnals (my “it’s time to clean my apartment” go to) and I was thrilled. I mean, who really often sees men making macaroni and cheese while listening to a female rocker who has got some serious pipes. I instantly knew I came to the right place.

No matter how many times I opened my mouth to chat, the bartender, and I presume an owner, were eager to listen. My cabbie on the way there kept telling me to go for the burger but you can get a burger anywhere. I decided on pulled pork.

“You can get a side of macaroni and cheese instead of fries for only 2 dollars more,” the bartender said. DONE.

I started with a salad to get some greens in my body before stuffing it with pig lard. Upon noticing I was one person ordering for four, I was given the option to make my salad a half size and save some room. This was a half…

The Shuttle:  Mesculin greens, goat cheese, dried cranberries, candied pecans, tomato balsamic vinaigrette

The Shuttle: Mesculin greens, goat cheese, dried cranberries, candied pecans, tomato balsamic vinaigrette

I could have honestly stopped there and been content. The thing was huge, not over dressed, and just delicious. It took me all about 3 minutes to eat it. And then came out my pulled pork…

Pulled Pork: Shredded pork shoulder, BBQ sauce, fried onions, garlic toasted hoagie

Pulled Pork: Shredded pork shoulder, BBQ sauce, fried onions, garlic toasted hoagie

I swear under those mounds of fried onions there is pork. I sort of just started at it for a few minutes figuring out how to eat it. I chewed on some pasta trying to gauge my plan of attack when… holy cheese! NOMZ!

And then I heard it…. At the Drive In, The cook is playing AT THE DRIVE IN…. after Grace Potter. If I didn’t already love this place enough. For any of you that are Mars Volta fans, you know what I am talking about.

Sunset in MA off the plane

Sunset in MA off the plane

I was pretty much on cloud nine, had gotten halfway through my sandwich and macaroni when I started to hit a wall. I was overdoing it. Boxing the rest of my meal, I sort of sat, sipped my wine, and looked around. Everyone was happy, a good sign. The bartender was making some crazy drinks with the funkiest names; The Fuzzy Kitten, The Purple Purr, The Alley Cat, The Pink Panther, etc. How could you not love it? For so late on a Monday night, this place was well filled, but not overwhelming. You could tell it was the place people wanted to be.

After sitting for a minute, I decided if I was going to go big, I had to get dessert. So I did. I asked for a recommendation between the Bread Pudding and Creme Brulee, two of my “I am a sucker for” go to items. No hesitation, I am told “if it’s between anything and the bread pudding, it’s always the bread pudding.” So bread pudding it was.

20130812_225210

Bread Pudding: Traditional with a twist. This bread pudding is anything but simple

Homemade whipped cream always means it is going to be good, but homemade caramel took it over the top. The brioche that is used to make the dish is ALSO homemade… so virtually everything was done the Fat Cat’s way and it was the exact way I would have done it. I hate when people try and mess with something good. Bread pudding should be about awesome bread, a to die for custard, and that cream. I accept some variations, like my version with Figs or Jam.

I could only finish half, but that was also a wonderful decision. I ate the rest for breakfast the next morning.

The bill was under 30 dollars, for wine, salad, an entree, and dessert. The music was ideal. The staff friendly and entertaining. I left happy.

IMG_20130813_135503

The next day was spent doing work away from the office, but I will never forget the Fat Cat making me feel like I was home.

Leave a Reply

