Honey Siracha Sauce

PhotoGrid_1372871909435

The fourth of July is tomorrow and I was thinking of making something yummy for a beach BBQ. Chicken was the obvious choice, but I didn’t know how I wanted to cook it. Then it hit me.

If you have ever been to Gyu Kaku, they have this Spicy sauce that you can put on the meats you cook at your table. It is addicting. So much so, I have even asked for little containers to take it home. YUM! I thought, how perfect would that sweet and spicy sauce be to put on this chicken after it was grilled? So I set out to figuring how to make my own version.

And I did. My sauce is a little spicier, which I like, but all it would take to tone that down is to add more honey. I give you, Honey Siracha Sauce.

10tbs salted butter
10-12 cloves garlic minced
5 tbs low sodium soy sauce
5 tbs lime juice, about juice of 1.5 medium limes
1 cup Siracha
1 cup honey (make it the good kind, people)

Melt the butter in a large sauce pan. Keep the heat on medium-low; you don’t want anything to brown and burn.

20130702_220115

Once the butter is melted, add the minced garlic. Cook it until it starts to get fragrant, about 2-3 minutes.

20130702_220222

Add the lime juice. Stir everything together.

20130702_220350

Slowly add the soy sauce (it may start to sizzle). Stir everything together and let it start working.

20130702_220706

Add the Siracha. Mix it around but not all the way incorporated. Just get it to start moving.

20130702_220829

Last, add the honey.

20130702_221837

Mix everything together thoroughly. Mix slowly and keep your heat medium-low.

20130702_221028

Cook for about 10 minutes to thicken a little bit. The sauce itself will not be super thick.

Toss on baked chicken or fry up some wings. Drizzle on your favorite steak or even over macaroni and cheese. The possibilities are endless. It really goes on anything that needs a little kick.

One thought on “Honey Siracha Sauce

Leave a Reply

